30th June – 13 July 2013

Journal update (30/06-13/07): Visiting ‘Dalston House’ art exhibit, Photoblogging about Wimbledon, Attending the private view for artist Meg Mosley’s ‘My Life’ exhibition, photographing jazz singer Simon Lawrence, songwriting, etc.

Dalston House, Dalston Junction (Tuesday 2nd July)

Dalston House is an interactive art installation, designed by Argentine artist Leandro Erlich and commissioned by the Barbican.

Image

The Barbican describe the exhibition as: ‘resembling a theatre set, the detailed facade of a Victorian terraced house – recalling those that once stood on the street – lies horizontally on the ground with mirrors positioned overhead. The reflections of visitors give the impression they are standing on, suspended from, or scaling the building vertically.’

Dalston House is open till 4th August and is free, so if you get a chance to visit it you definitely should. The visual illusion is really impressive and great fun 🙂

http://www.besidetheseeside.blogspot.co.uk/2013/07/dalston-house.html

Image

Wimbledon Photoblog, (Thursday, 4th July)

If you (like me) are missing Wimbledon, please check out my photoblog from my visit to SW19 last Thursday. Sadly I didn’t get to see our champion Andy playing a match (although we did see him out on the practice courts) but we did watch some other tennis legends playing including Martina Navratilova and John McEnroe. Great day – & what a fantastic championship! Congratulations to Murray!

http://www.besidetheseeside.blogspot.co.uk/2013/07/wimbledon-2013.html

Image

Image

Acoustic Music at O’Neills, Muswell Hill, (Sunday 7th July)

I had planned to get back on stage and play some music at the monthly acoustic night at O’Neills, which is run by fantastic local recording/rehearsal studio Bonafide Studios. Unfortunately I was completely wiped out with my post viral fatigue condition, however I turned up anyway to support a couple of my friends who were performing (Rachel Elliot & Simon Lawrence). It was great to see both play, although I did feel very frustrated watching from the sidelines. 😦 I really hope to be back on stage again soon! In the meantime I’ve been focusing on my photography as that is not as affected by my ongoing Post Viral Fatigue condition.

Image

Image

Meg Mosley, Private View of ‘My Life’ Exhibition,  Jerwood Visual Art Gallery (Tuesday 9th July)

There was lots of boozing, schmoozing, and fans being signed by the artist(!) at the private view of Meg Mosley’s exhibition at the Jerwood Visual Art Gallery. It was such a fun evening. I will be doing a photo shoot with Meg soon, watch this space for further details! In the meantime check out my photoblog for some pics of the the private view shenanigans.

http://www.besidetheseeside.blogspot.co.uk/2013/07/meg-mosley-private-view-at-jerwood-space.html

Image

Image

Photo session with Simon Lawrence, Kensington Gardens (Wednesday 10th July)

I first met Simon in February of this year, when we both performing at the acoustic night at the Kings Head Theatre Pub in Islington. Simon is a talented jazz singer who also composes his own material. We headed to Kensington Gardens on 10th July for a photoshoot. We had a brilliant afternoon in the sunshine, to see the pics and to read Simon’s interview please see this link: http://www.besidetheseeside.blogspot.co.uk/2013/07/simon-lawrence.html

Image

Image

Acoustic music, Prince Albert Pub, Stroud, Gloucestershire (Saturday 13th July)

During a trip to Stroud I saw the amazing vocal duo Ed & Will of the The Minstrels. They are currently doing ‘A Walk Around Britain’ where they ramble across the Britain countryside, performing their music at the bars & pubs they encounter during their travels. It is such a fascinating adventure. Please read details here: http://awalkaroundbritain.com/

The Minstrels perform traditional folk songs a cappella, and their harmonies are really impressive.

Image

Recording!

I’m am pleased to say that following songwriting sessions and pre-production discussions I am now ready for my next recording session (on Friday 26th July) with producer Steve Dowsett. I can’t wait, please pop back on 29th July for full details of our recording session and my other creative activities, including photographing the annual Arts Couture festival  🙂

Sam Bookbinders 4

https://www.facebook.com/samantha.edgley.arts

http://www.besidetheseeside.blogspot.co.uk/

Leave a comment